Sorbonne University in Abu Dhabi to host Open Climbing Championships International climbers to demonstrate their skills at the biggest climbing contest in the GCC

More than 50 of the UAE’s best male and female climbers representing different countries will compete for the title of champion at the Sorbonne University Open Climbing Championships April 18-19 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Sorbonne University in Abu Dhabi indoor climbing wall is the first climbing wall in Abu Dhabi open to the public. Since sport climbing makes its Olympic debut in Tokyo 2020, the SUAD goal is to showcase climbing as an amazing activity for everyone, help to understand it and provide safe and professional training. Last year competition were a huge success, there was more than 50 participants from different countries. This year SUAD rise the bar and invite professional international athletes.

The SUAD Open Climbing Championships will be held in two categories: PRO and CHALLANGER, both divided into male and female subcategories. PRO category is created to present a world class level of competing to the UAE audience. CHALLANGER is design for everyone who want to have fun and is ready to experience climbing Olympic formula on their own skin. Participants will choose the category they want to participate in. 4-6 best competitors of both categories in the women’s and men’s subcategories will take part in the big finals.

The SUAD Open Climbing Championships begins on Thursday with the PRO climbers competing in eliminations. First day of the climbing contest will be followed by the movie show. On Friday, the competition continue with CHALLANGER category eliminations and wraps up with both categories spectacular finals. The planned prize pool in the PRO category is 12.000 EUR in cash and 3000 EUR in material prizes in the CHALLANGER category.

Preliminary schedule of the competition:
17:00 – 20:00 – eliminations in PRO category
20:30 – movie show
9:00 – 15:00 – eliminations in CHALLANGER category
16:00 – PRO finals
18:00 – CHALLANGER finals
20:00 – award ceremony