الجغرافيا والتخطيط

علم الجغرافيا بطبيعته هو علم متعدد التخصصات لاشتماله على العلوم الطبيعية والاجتماعية والعلوم الإنسانية. وانطلاقاً من كونه تخصص تطبيقيّ، فإنه يتعامل مع قضايا ملحة مثل التخطيط الحضري وإدارة الموارد الطبيعية والتنمية المستدامة.

يتميز أعضاء هيئة التدريس في القسم بكونهم باحثين نشطاء يسعون لتطبيق أعلى المعايير والأساليب المبتكرة في التدريس، كما يحرصون على تغطية مجموعة متنوعة من الموضوعات كالنُظم المناخية والتنوع البيولوجي وديناميات المناظر الطبيعية والتحولات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية العالمية، فضلاً عن المخاطر الثقافية والسياسية على المستوى المحلي والدولي، أو النقل والتنقل.

إن برامج البكالوريوس والماجستير معززة بمختبر حديث لتكنولوجيا المعلومات مُخصص للأرصاد الجوية (تحليلات البيانات المكانية ورسم الخرائط ونظام المعلومات الجغرافية والاستشعار عن بعد). ترتبط أنشطة البحث والتدريس الخاصة بقسم الجغرافيا والتخطيط ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالمحيط الطبيعي والاجتماعي والاقتصادي. وبالتالي فإن العمل الميداني والتواصل مع المهنيين في القطاعين الخاص والعام أساسي في تجربة دراسة الجغرافيا في جامعة السوربون أبوظبي، ويعود في العادة إلى تدريب ميداني للطالب يساعده على تحسين آفاق التطور الوظيفي.

حيث إن هدفنا و طموحنا هو المساهمة في مواجهة التحديات البيئية والاجتماعية التي تواجهها إمارة أبوظبي ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمنطقة، فإننا من خلال الشراكة مع جامعات أخرى كجامعة أبوظبي وجامعة زايد ومعهد مصدر والمؤسسات العامة كدائرة البلدية والتخطيط وهيئة أبوظبي للإسكان وهيئة البيئة أبوظبي وغيرها نحقق هذا الهدف.

اسم مدير القسم وتفاصيل الاتصال
الدكتور ادريان دوبكس
البريد الالكتروني: hadrien.dubucs@sorbonne.ae

Geography and Planning

Geography is inherently interdisciplinary and embraces the natural and social sciences, as well as the humanities. As an applied discipline, it deals with urgent issues such as urban planning, natural resources management and sustainable development.

The department’s faculty are active researchers who apply high standards and innovative methods of teaching on a variety of topics including climate systems, biodiversity, landscape dynamics, global social and economic transformations, as well as cultural and political stakes on a local and international scale, or transport and mobility.

Our undergraduate and postgraduate programmes benefit from an up-to-date IT laboratory dedicated to geomatics (spatial data analytics, mapping, Geographical Information System and Remote sensing). The department’s research and teaching activities are closely tied to our natural, social and economic surroundings. Fieldwork and exchanges with professionals in private and public sectors are thus an integral part of the geography study experience at Sorbonne Abu Dhabi, and can lead to internships that help to improve the career prospects of our students.

Since inception, our ambition has been to contribute to meeting the environmental and societal challenges faced by Abu Dhabi, the UAE and the region by partnering with other universities (Abu Dhabi University, Zayed University and the Masdar Institute) and public institutions (Department of Planning and Municipality, Abu Dhabi Housing Authority and the Environment Agency – Abu Dhabi, amongst others).

Head of Department name and contact details
Dr. Hadrien Dubucs
Email: hadrien.dubucs@sorbonne.ae