نبذة تاريخية

تأسست جامعتنا في مايو 2006 تحت رعاية كريمة من صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان، ولي عهد أبوظبي نائب القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ودائرة التعليم والمعرفة وجامعة السوربون كجزء من رؤية الإمارة لتعزيز القطاع الأكاديمي والثقافي.

يُمثل هذا الاتفاق التاريخي الرؤية المشتركة بين حكومة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والحكومة الفرنسية لتحقيق أفضل المعايير في مجال التعليم الفرنسي في منطقة الشرق الأوسط. ووقعت كل من جامعة السوربون وجامعة باريس ديكارت وجامعة بيير وماري كوري على الاتفاق الذي يقضي بافتتاح حرم جامعي في أبوظبي لتقديم برامج أكاديمية متخصصة بدرجة البكالوريوس والماجستير.

في ديسمبر عام 2009، انتقلت جامعة السوربون أبوظبي إلى حرم الجامعة الجديد الذي بُني خصيصاً في جزيرة الريم في أبوظبي ويمتد على 93 ألف متر مربع ويشمل المرافق التعليمية والترفيهية والسكن الجامعي. وتضم الجامعة أيضاً مكتبة ومسرحاً يتسع لأكثر من 700 شخص ومركزاً رياضياً وكافتيريا.

وتلتزم الجامعة بشكل مستمر بالمساهمة في رؤية أبوظبي المُتمثلة في تحويل الإمارة إلى مركز ثقافي وعلمي وتوسيع نطاق تواصلها مع الطلبة محلياً وعالمياً.

معلومات أساسية

تاريخ التأسيس: 30 مايو 2006
رعاية: رعاية كريمة من صاحب السمو شيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان، ولي أبوظبي
الشعار: جسر بين الحضارات
الشركاء: جامعة باريس ديكارت
المدير التنفيذي للجامعة: البروفيسور إريك فواش
الاعتماد: وزارة التربية والتعليم في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وزارة التعليم العالي والبحث الفرنسية
التخصصات: العلوم الإنسانية والعلوم والفنون واللغات والاقتصاد والقانون والأدب الفرنسي
اللغات التي يتم التدريس بها: الفرنسية والإنجليزية
النظام: تحويل الرصيد الدراسي الأوروبي (ECTS)
التنوع الطلبي: أكثر من 90 جنسية (أكثر من 25% من الخريجين هم من مواطني الدولة)

History

Our university was established in May 2006 under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, the Department of Education and Knowledge (ADEK) and Sorbonne University, as part of the Emirate’s vision for academic and cultural growth.

This historic agreement represented a shared vision between the UAE Government and the French Government to bring world-class standards of French education to the Middle East. Sorbonne University, Paris Descartes University and the University of Pierre et Marie Curie were all signatories to the agreement to establish the Abu Dhabi campus and to provide specialised undergraduate and postgraduate academic programmes.

In December 2009, Sorbonne Abu Dhabi moved into its purpose-built, permanent campus on Al Reem Island in Abu Dhabi including over 93,000m2 of teaching, recreational and accommodation facilities. This included a library, a 700-seat auditorium, a sports centre and a cafeteria.

The university is always committed to Abu Dhabi’s vision of creating a cultural and scientific hub and expanding its outreach to students locally and across the world.

Key facts

Established: 30 May 2006
Patronage: Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince
Motto: A bridge between civilisations
Affiliations: Sorbonne University and Paris Descartes University
Chancellor: Prof. Jean Chambaz
Vice Chancellor: Prof Eric Fouache
Accreditation: UAE Ministry of Education, French Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation
Subjects: Humanities, Sciences, Arts, Languages, Economy, Law, French Literature
Teaching Language: French, English
System: European Credit Transfer System (ECTS)
Student Diversity: over 90 Nationalities (more than 25% of the graduates are UAE Nationals)